Posted: 17 November 2022

On Saturday it was the turn of the under 19 athletes to row the 5-kilometer course on the River Witham in a bid to show their early season form to GB selectors. Twenty Scottish athletes and their coaches travelled to Boston to race alongside over 200 other boats after qualifying their spot with a 2k ergo performance.

Brothers Alexander and Hector Patton (St Andrew Boat Club) impressed down the 5k track, finishing 16th and 19th respectively. Hector also placed highly in the 2k erg, posting the 9th quickest time. Their former crew member Freddy Foxwell (Leander Club) was the next quickest Scot in 25th followed by Scottish Rowing Junior Academy rower Harris Bisset (George Heriot’s School) in 30th


Alexander Patton

Photo by AllMarkOne

In the women’s division, Kloe Hunter (Glasgow Academy) was the first Scot home in 22nd followed by her teammate Sofia Nielsen (31st) and Phoebe Pryce (St Andrew Boat Club) in 33rd


Kloe Hunter

Photo by AllMarkOne

Aberdeen Schools Rowing Association were well represented with nine athletes taking part. Sam Doherty and Freya Hughson earned club bragging rights finishing 54th and 43rd in their categories, ahead of their club mates. Emma Steele and Lachlan Uttley, rowing for George Watson’s College brought the tally of Scottish clubs with athletes trialing to five.

Congratulations to all who took part and contributed to the performances. Athletes will now return to training ahead of the winter head racing season with the next open under 19 trial taking place in February. 

Results are listed below.


GB Rowing Team Under 19 Early ID Trials Results – November 2022

Junior Men (1x)

Alexander Patton (St Andrew BC) – 16th

Hector Patton (St Andrew BC) – 19th

Freddy Foxwell (Leander Club) – 25th

Harris Bisset (George Heriot’s School) – 30th

Sam Doherty (Aberdeen Schools RA) – 54th

Lachlan Uttley (George Watson’s College) – 56th

Magnus Heidenreich (Aberdeen Schools RA) – 64th

Andrew Wright (St Andrew BC) – 97th

Harris Pearce (Aberdeen Schools RA) – 108th

Murray Bone (Aberdeen Schools RA) – no time


Junior Women (1x)

Kloe Hunter (Glasgow Academy) – 22nd

Sofia Nielsen (Glasgow Academy) – 31st

Phoebe Pryce (St Andrew BC) – 33rd

Freya Hughson (Aberdeen Schools RA) – 43rd

Emma Steele (George Watson’s College) – 51st  

Ella Brooks (Aberdeen Schools RA) – 56th

Maggie Seward (Aberdeen Schools RA) – 68th

Carmen Buter (Glasgow Academy) -74th

Sophie Sinclair (Aberdeen Schools RA) – 91st

Penny Irvine (Aberdeen Schools RA) - 98th